Tags

, ,

Let’s talk about parenting and mental illness. How hard is it to deal with both? When you have mental illness, I found it is more difficult to deal with children. Because we are reflecting on them. We are their role model. If we don’t know how to deal with our emotions, who is going to teach them? Nobody. We have to take care of ourselves so we can teach them.

Before I was diagnosed BPD, I had a lot of mood swings and I was using alcohol and drugs as a coping skill. I didn’t let my children see me like this but during the day it affected them indirectly. They were seeing an unhealthy mom. 

I realized that my oldest son has a little bit of difficulties expressing his emotions. I know he is only 5 years old but I am the one who needs to teach him how. If I can’t express my feelings in a healthy way, I can’t show my children how to do it. 

When I was in the day treatment program, I wanted to learn as much as I can so I can be a good role model for my children. I also took a course about promoting positive behavior in children. It helped me and my husband about understanding our children more.

