Anger management


5 – A’s of ANGER MANAGEMENT

  1. Awareness: Aware that I am angry. What is my body telling me. Naming our emotions.
  2. Acceptance: I can accept it is O.K. To be angry. Moving from “you made me angry” to ” I am angry”. Finding safe/non-violent ways to express it.
  3. Analysis: Moving it closer to when it is happening. Ask yourself – what is the source, function and cause of your anger. “If I was not feeling angry right now, what would I be feeling?” The purpose of this is to help you determine what you are going to do with the anger. Finding choices.
  4. Appropriate action: ‘Pro-Active’ as compared to ‘reactive’. Look at different behaviors of handing your anger.
  5. Appreciation: “Knowing I’ve done the best I can in this situation”. To learn to be gentle with one’s self.

The first step in ANGER MANAGEMENT is to get to know your anger by recognizing its symptoms.

  • Physical
  • Emotional
  • Behavioral

Expressing your anger in a healthy way

1- Physical

  • Release of energy build up (walking, jogging, running, swimming, other non-violent sports)
  • Relaxation techniques (listen to music, reading, petry, yoga, Tai Chi, coloring, aerobics, writing)

2- Psychological

“Think my way into a New way of acting”

“Change thoughts, change actions”

  • After: cognitive repatterning – replays (Redoing anger in inner drama)
  • Before: cognitive rehearsal (Preparing for stress situation)
  • During: 1) Cognitive self talk, 2) Deep breathing, 3) Coounting in own mind, 4) Being aware of our own body – Blushing, 5) Being aware of our own triggers, 6) How am I going to express myself to be clear and respect you? – “I” statements/Assertiveness
Leave a Reply

